Did You Know?

What is Helsinki Region?


As you might already know, Helsinki is Finland’s capital. And with a population of about 650 000, it is also the biggest city in Finland.

What is Capital Region?

Next to Helsinki are two other big Finnish cities; Espoo and Vantaa. These three big cities (Helsinki, Espoo, Vantaa) and the small town of Kauniainen, which is surrounded by Espoo, create an area which is called the capital region or metropolitan area (“pääkaupunkiseutu” in Finnish). The cities are so close together that it is hard to tell when you are moving from one city to another. As Helsinki, Espoo and Vantaa are all among the top 10 biggest cities in Finland, they bring the total population of capital region to over 1 million.

What is Helsinki Region?

The Helsinki region or greater Helsinki (“Helsingin seutu” in Finnish) is yet a bit more larger area surrounding the Helsinki. It consists the capital region and some further-flung towns and cities. These includes Tuusula, Kerava, Järvenpää, Kirkkonummi, Vihti, Hyvinkää, Nurmijärvi, Sipoo, Pornainen and Mäntsälä. Although some of these are about 50 km away from Helsinki, they are so strongly connected to the capital that they are referred as the Helsinki region.

Only registered users can comment.

Comments are closed.